WildnernessRunningV

Click on the image to view the clip; you know the drill!

Another thing I’ve been told never to do is mixing personal life and professional blog. That’s another thing I’m not going to listen to, because I don’t like to follow rules, and because it’s difficult for me to disentangle personal and professional life. As a science researcher, my research is my life, my colleagues are my friends, and the values and qualities that I seek in my work, I use them to progress in running. Tenacity, strength of will, pugnacity, focus, patience, endurance, mental toughness, resilience, hard work, ambition, …

So I’ve started running 6 months ago. It took me like a urge to pee, and hasn’t quit me since. This week-end, I’ve completed my fourth semi-marathon and registered for my first marathon. I run several times a week, a minimum of 10 km each time, whether it’s hot, it’s raining, I’m tired or I’m in pain. My family and friends have been surprised, and it’s been difficult to explain, when they see me aching, or panting, or simply too exhausted to talk or move after a race.
So I’ve made this short clip, from bits found on the Internet, hoping some images will convey part of the message. Feel free to comment and share. And to try running. You’ll see, it feels good!

Comments
  1. Sherwood says:

    Hé tu veux te sentir incapable de bouger, douloureux, poisseux, rougeaud et ne rien pouvoir faire de ta journée ? Cours tous les matins !
    Je suis l’anti-course, et si vous voulez des conseils pour une vie sans bousillage de genoux, je peux en fournir. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma says:

    “Another thing I’ve been told never to do is mixing personal life and professional blog”
    C’est marrant parce que j’aurais tendance à dire que les blogs les plus intéressants, ou du moins ceux que moi je préfère, sont justement ceux où l’auteur laisse -beaucoup!- apparaitre sa personalité.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. GHG Hair Straightener
    Its such as you read my thoughts! You seem
    to grasp so much approximately this, such as you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you just could
    do with a few percent to pressure the message home a little bit,
    but other than that, that is fantastic blog.
    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

    Like

  4. Melanie A. Hamel says:

    I like this post Franck. Not only because you mix professional and personal life, but because I can relate, and not in the way you would think first. Exercise does to me the exact opposite. I explain. I come from an “anti-workout” background. Different to anti-outdoors though, I love the outdoors, but I just rejected anything that could be called a workout… until early last year. I was starting my 3rd year as a PhD student and started running just to try. I still didn’t like it but I kept going. Then kayaking. Then mountain biking. And trail running. This quickly escalated into competing in multi-sport events (off-road triathlons) in my region, and a little less than a year ago I started outrigger paddling. I am now in the board of my club, learning new things every day and promoting the sport to other people… All these experiences and sports help me develop “the values and qualities that I seek in my work” and that I might not feel comfortable with in a professional context at first: “Tenacity, strength of will, pugnacity, focus, patience, endurance, mental toughness, resilience, hard work, ambition, …”. So, interestingly enough, it works the opposite way for me. Thanks to exercise, I am learning and practicing perseverance, faith, tenacity, ambition, confidence, strength and leadership and I can then use these skills in the workplace.
    Keep running!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment